Florida Licensing Requirements for Real Estate

Real Estate Sales Associate

  1. Successfully complete a FREC-approved pre-licensing course for sales associates consisting of 63 classroom-hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes for 2 years after the course completion date. Licensees with a permanent physical disability, as defined by FREC Rule 61J2-3.013(2), may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if unable, due to a permanent physical disability, to attend the site where the course is conducted.
  2. Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and appropriate fee.
  3. Pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination with a grade of at least 75 or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30..

Real Estate Broker

  1. Successfully complete a FREC approved pre-licensing course for brokers consisting of 72 classroom hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes for two years after the course completion date. Applicants with a permanent physical disability, as defined by FREC Rule 61J2-3.013(2), may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if unable, due to a permanent physical disability, to attend the site where the course is conducted.
  2. Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and appropriate fee.
  3. Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of at least 75.
  4. Submit a completed DBPR RE 13 Broker Transactions form to activate the license, otherwise the license is issued in an inactive status.
  5. Successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for brokers consisting of at least 60 classroom hours prior to the expiration of the initial broker license.

For more information or to submit an application, please visit the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR).

 

License Renewal Requirements

Post-license education must be completed on or before the expiration date of the license (before your first renewal).

  • Sales associates must complete 45 hours of post license education.
  • Brokers must complete 60 hours of post licensure education.

After your first renewal, your license may be renewed every two years by completing 14 hours of continuing education.

Time to renew?

GTR’s Professional Development Department is your number one resource for continuing education. GTR has a variety of programs designed to help you meet your 14-hour, 45-hour, and 60-hour post licensing education requirements. For more information and a calendar of available classes, please visit the Education section.